A day in the life at WRHU

Picture shows AJ Sonnick in studio for Alternative Nation on WRHU

AJ Sonnick in studio for Alternative Nation on WRHU

I recently experimented in shooting photographs and recording audio to tell stories.  In this project, I spent a day at WRHU Radio Hofstra University in Hempstead, New York. Radio Hofstra University airs student produced content 24 hours a day, seven days a week in a major media market.  I started my day early at Hofstra’s Morning Wake Up Call, WRHU’s morning drive talk show that airs weekdays from 7 to 9 a.m., where I spoke to one of the co-hosts, Allyson Judge. After that, I hung out in studio with AJ Sonnick, a host of Alternative Nation, a music show that plays alternative hits weekdays from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.  Then I sat in with Ashley Armstrong, who is the producer of Newsline, WRHU’s evening newscast, as she prepared for the day’s broadcast.  

Next time I do a project like this I will definitely bring a more professional camera as my photos this time were not of the best quality. 

Check out my soundslide here! 

Leave a Reply

